At our 2017 AGM Gavin Orton looked back on a successful second year as Chairman, and should be rightly proud of everything that he, with the support of Trustees, committees, members and our support team has achieved. From events to campaigns, awards to newsletters we are developing a clearer identity, having greater influence and becoming a stronger Society.

Three Trustees, Christine Cushing, Lorraine Francis and Stephen Hartland, were re-elected for a final term in office.

Also at the AGM Gavin announced that the Trustees wished to award the Society’s Gold Medal to the late Councillor Ray Hassall in recognition of his work across the city. The Gold Medal is awarded to citizens of Birmingham who have made an exemplary contribution to the city over a number of years.

Read the 2016-2017 Annual Review

See the full list of Gold Medal recipients